Ballon d’Or 2016 Nominees

France Football announced the 30-man shortlist for the 2016 Ballon d’Or yesterday. (October 24th 2016)

Leicester City’s Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy see themselves on the Ballon d’Or shortlist, both Mahrez and Vardy were part of Leicester’s winning team last season.

After a very successful season, Riyad Mahrez was named PFA Fans’ player of the year, Algerian player of the year and was part of the Premier League team of the year.

Jamie Vardy, equally had an extremely successful season. Vardy broke the Premier League record after scoring in 11 consecutive matches for the Champions, Leicester City.

Alongside Mahrez and Vardy there are 6 other Premier League players who have been named in the 30-man shortlist.

Leicester City

•Riyad Mahrez

•Jamie Vardy

Manchester City

•Sergio Aguero

•Kevin de Bruyne

Manchester United

•Zlatan Ibrahimovic

•Paul Pogba

Tottenham Hotspur

•Hugo Lloris

West Ham

•Dimitri Payet

There are five Bundesliga stars who are also included in the shortlist for the Ballon d’Or.  Bundesliga Champions, Bayern Munich have four nominees that have been named in the shortlist for the world’s best player and rivals Borussia Dortmund have one.

Borussia Dortmund

•Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

Bayern Munich

•Robert Lewandowski

•Thomas Muller

•Manuel Neuer

•Arturo Vidal

Serie A Champions, Juventus have 3 candidates that are named in the 30-man shortlist.


•Gianluigi Buffon

•Paulo Buffon

•Gonzalo Higuain

Following Portugal’s success at the Euros earlier this year, Rui Patricio is also on the shortlist for the world’s best player. The 28 year old was a part of Portugal’s winning team and played a significant role, helping his team to victory.

Sporting Lisbon

•Rui Patricio

La Liga have 13 nominees, including rivals Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, in the shortlist for the 2016 Ballon d’Or. Club giants, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona and Real Madrid all have their fair share of candidates.

Atletico Madrid

•Antoine Griezmann

•Diego Godin


Image 06-07-2017 at 02.50


•Andres Iniesta

•Lionel Messi


•Luis Suarez

Real Madrid

•Gareth Bale

•Toni Kroos

•Luka Modric


•Sergio Ramos

•Cristiano Ronaldo


For the past six years, the Fifa Ballon d’Or, was named after its association with world football’s governing body. Last month Fifa announced they had ended its association with the award for the world’s best player, but France Football will continue to run the Ballon d’Or.

The prestigious award has been presented by France Football every year since 1956 and the 2016 ceremony will take place on January 9th 2017.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s